O’Connell Robertson Earns CEFPI Architecture Merit Award

O’Connell Robertson’s design of the new Jarrell Elementary School in Jarrell ISD (Jarrell, Texas) earned one of two Architecture Merit Awards presented by the Council of Educational Facility Planners International (CEFPI) Southern Region Chapter during the group’s annual conference in Austin on Saturday (April 6).

Jurors from the CEFPI Southern Region and Pacific Northwest Region Washington Chapters selected the project from among 18 award submittals. Judges’ comments noted that Jarrell Elementary School:

– Is a product of the community that provides a fresh contemporary look utilizing an old-fashion material. Center of the community!

– Fits well with the site/context, as well as the community.

– The collaboration process clearly defined the goals.

Jarrod Sterzinger, AIA, LEED AP, who served as the project manager and architect, accepted the award on behalf of the Firm. He is currently overseeing the development of the District’s new middle school, which officially broke ground yesterday (April 8). O’Connell Robertson also designed Jarrell’s new high school that opened in 2009.

“We are proud of our ongoing relationship with Jarrell ISD and excited about this recognition,” said Amy Jones, the principal-in-charge of the projects. “We want to make an impact with our designs and appreciate the jurors’ recognition of our focus on developing a school that incorporates the District’s mission and community’s goals.”